Follow

Seeking Science Fiction 

What are some good SF works on parasitism and sex/reproduction? I’m looking for something in the vein of Bloodchild or The Left Hand of Darkness. Not so much “All You Zombies—“ because that was about an individual, rather than a world.

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna First thought is Octavia Butler's Xenogenesis trilogy, but since you mention Bloodchild you've probably already got that one.

@setsuna Oh, glad it was a help! Dawn, Adulthood Rites, aImago.

Seeking Science Fiction 

@naga @setsuna Since parasitism was mentioned there is "Patternist Series" (see: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patterni). Also Butler published a lot of short-stories, and about a half of them had either of the requested themes ;)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@jacek @setsuna I hadn't thought about that aspect of the Patternist books, but you're absolutely right.

Also, to be more explicit on Xenogensis, it moves into symbiosis territory for reproduction. (As I recall, it's been a long time since I've read the latter two)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@naga @setsuna Actually I was very keen to know what will people from SF book club say when they read whole Xenogenesis (I got trilogy as a single tome so I read it in a weekend). And yes --- definitely there is more symbiosis than parasitism.

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna

1. Greg Egan's Diaspora contains very nice description of "birth" and childhood of post-human person;

2. The whole Hyperion series (including endymion) has parasites;

3. Life Artificial: "birth" and life of an AI: lifeartificial.com/

4. Lives of Tao: goodreads.com/book/show/159817

5. Orson Scott Card: Ender series books 3 and 4.

6. Robert Charles Wilson: Spin series (parasites are parasiting/symbioting on the civilisation rather than individual)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna

1. Also this Scott Card: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyrms_(n has some veird repoductive cycles;

2. I keep thinking about Dick, let's say there are some "space" beings that influence consciousness in eg. VALIS (it might be a long-shot); Also UBIK has parasites (kinda sorta);

3. Social Parasitism is in every second SF book on soviet block (spoiler: parasites are metaphor for the communist party ;)). Zajdel: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coming_o

@setsuna No problem! Glad to help, also refreshing SF books I read was super-fun :)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna

And the last one:

Asimov "The Gods Themselves": en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Gods Weird alien reproductive cycle

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna It turns out that the most interesting part of Diaspora (birth of post-human person) is freely available: gregegan.net/DIASPORA/01/Orpha

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Plural Café

Plural Café is a community for plural systems and plural-friendly singlets alike, that hopes to foster a safe place for finding and interacting with other systems in the Mastodon fediverse.